2023 Mayoral Election

At the Meeting of the Council on Monday 18 September 2023, Councillors voted for the positions of Mayor and Deputy Mayor for the Sutherland Shire to the end of the current council term which is currently planned to conclude in September 2024. Councillor Carmelo Pesce was re-elected as Mayor, with Councillor Carol Provan re-elected as Deputy Mayor.

This mid-term mayoral election was held due to the postponement of the September 2020 Local Government Election to December 2021.

A webcast of the meeting is available to view here on our website.

2024 NSW Local Government Elections

The next Local Government election will be held on Saturday, 14 September 2024 for the election of our Councillors.

Voting is compulsory at all NSW local government elections except for council polls.

Find out more about the 2024 Local Government election.