The next Local Government election will be held on Saturday 14 September 2024 for the election of our Councillors. Sutherland Shire Council has 15 publicly elected Councillors (three for each of the five wards) who hold office as ‘the Council’ for a term of four years.

Information for voters

Find out more on the NSW Electoral Commission website:

Even if you don't live here, you may be entitled to vote if you own, occupy or lease property in Sutherland Shire as a corporation, business or individual.

You must register with us, by completing and returning the appropriate form below. It is your responsibility to check that you are eligible for inclusion in the non-residential roll for Sutherland Shire Council when you make an application.

Find out more about the Non-Residential Roll

How to enrol as a non-resident

Read the below forms, and if you are eligible, please complete the appropriate form and return it to us by 6.00pm on Monday 5 August 2024.

You can return it by:

Post: Locked Bag 17, Sutherland NSW 1499

Hand: 4-20 Eton Street, Sutherland NSW


Non-Residential Roll Individual Application - PDF - 139 KB

Non-Residential Roll Nominee Application - PDF - 143 KB

Information for potential candidates

There are two ways to be nominated:

  • A political party put forward your nomination
  • Nominate by electors as an individual

Find out more about how to be nominated for local government elections at NSW Electoral Commission.

There are strict rules around donations and campaigns. Find out more at NSW Electoral Commission:

Council will be conducting an information session for potential candidates to be held at Councils Administration Building in Sutherland closer to the election date. This information will be updated in due course.

Mayoral Election

Councillors vote to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Sutherland Shire at the first council meeting following the election. Find out more about the 2023 Sutherland Shire Council Mayoral Election.