Local Government Elections

2021 Local Government Election

The Minister for Local Government has announced the September 2020 Local Government Elections will be postponed to address the risks posed by the COVID-19 virus. Local Government Elections will be held on 4 September 2021. For information about the postponement from the NSW Electoral Commission,  please visit the Office of Local Government webpage: Postponement of the September 2020 Local Government Elections


Local Government Election Voting Information

For more information about voting, please select from one of the options below that will take you to the NSW Electoral Commission website.


Candidate Information

For information, please see the links below.


Sutherland Shire Wards

Sutherland Shire Council has 15 publicly elected Councillors who hold office as ‘the Council’ for a term of four years, representing our five wards (A, B, C, D and E). To find out what Ward you are a part of, Ward Boundaries are available here.


Mayoral Election

Councillors vote to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Sutherland Shire. To read more about the 2020 Sutherland Shire Council Mayoral Election, and the Mayoral Election process, click here.



Did this page help you?

We monitor feedback and will respond to your comments if you include your email address.

Please type the characters you see in the picture below

Please type the code in the box above