Cr Jen Armstrong

Councillor Jen Armstrong was first elected to Sutherland Shire Council at the end of 2021.

Cr Armstrong is an Operations Manager for a Sutherland Shire not-for-profit organisation which promotes inclusion and equality.

As recipient of the 2016 NSW Premier's Woman of the Year Award, Cr Armstrong has been recognised for her advocacy work for victims of domestic violence.

With a keen focus on community advocacy, Cr Armstrong is passionate about ensuring the work of Sutherland Shire’s essential services and local community groups is both supported and acknowledged.

Eager to ensure residents of all ages and abilities can enjoy ready access to parks, playgrounds, sporting fields and leisure centres, Cr Armstrong is also keen to ensure Council delivers infrastructure in the best interests of our community.

Cr Armstrong is also committed to supporting the creation of local jobs and maintain an environment in which businesses can thrive, encouraging community engagement in Council’s decision-making processes, and to promote more opportunities for community events which celebrate diversity and inclusivity.

Currently a member of the following Standing Committees:

  • Planning and Growth Committee
  • Infrastructure and Operations Committee
  • Shire Services Committee
  • Corporate Governance Committee

Currently a member of the following Sub-Committee:

  • Access & Inclusion Committee (Deputy Chairperson)