MEDIA RELEASE - Devotion to going above and beyond the call of civic duty celebrated in Council’s Australia Day Awards

Sutherland Shire Council has praised the efforts of several inspiring, civic-minded residents at its annual Sutherland Shire Australia Day Awards Ceremony.

Throughout the history of the Sutherland Shire Australia Day Awards program, these commendations have provided due recognition for the many selfless contributions local residents witness being made throughout our community.
Sutherland Shire Mayor, Councillor Carmelo Pesce congratulated the efforts of all award nominees and recipients, whose work often goes unsung.
“The Australia Day Awards program is significant for our community because it encourages us to take a moment to recognise and celebrate truly inspiring local residents and thank them for their unwavering dedication to their cause,” Mayor Pesce said.
“Many of these individuals and groups work tirelessly behind the scenes without recognition and each year we are in awe of the efforts of those who are nominated and help make the Sutherland Shire a more vibrant and supportive place to live.
“Although our community, our nation, and nations across the globe continue to face challenges, the self-propelled efforts of people who inspire positive change is heartening.”
In a first for the awards program, Council has this year awarded two recipients of the Citizen of The Year Award, to recognise two noteworthy individuals whose tireless work and advocacy has made a significant contribution to addressing pressing social and health issues within our community.
“The breadth of untiring community spirit demonstrated by the many incredible nominees that were put forward by members of the community is a true testament to our local community, and gives reason for why we are all very proud to call Sutherland Shire home,” Mayor Pesce said.
Please see the following 2022 Sutherland Shire Australia Day Award winners:
  • Citizen of The Year: Danielle Lucas, Care 4 Kids
  • Citizen of The Year: Megan Barnes, Pancreatic Cancer awareness advocate
  • Young Citizen of The Year: Alexander Tuckfield, 2020 Tokyo Paralympian, 400m Freestyle 
  • Community Group of the Year: COVID-19 Sutherland Shire Community Group launched by Jessica Baird
  • Environmental Citizen of the Year: Julie Keating, Port Hacking shorebird enthusiast 

Read more about the 2022 award nominations here.

Environmental citizen Julie Keating
Community Group of the Year 2022
Young Citizen of the Year Alex Tuckfield