

JULY 2023

PREPARED BY: **ARTS AND CULTURE**







1. NAME

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Sub-Committee.

2. PURPOSE

The purpose of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Sub-Committee is to provide a forum for communication between the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community and Council to address and advance Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander issues within the Sutherland Shire.

3. OBJECTIVES

The objective/s of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Sub-Committee are:

- To advance reconciliation between the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community with the wider community;
- To enhance community awareness of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture, heritage and socio-economic issues (eg: health, employment, education and housing).
- To maintain and enhance positive working relationships between the Council and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community.

4. MEMBERSHIP

Sub-Committee Membership shall consist of:

4.1. Voting Members

- Three Councillors appointed by Council
- Chairperson or nominated representative of La Parouse Local Aboriginal Land Council
- Chairperson or nominated representative of Gandangara Local Aboriginal Land Council
- Chairperson or nominated representative of Tharawal Local Aboriginal Land Council
- Chairperson or nominated representative of Kurranulla Aboriginal Corporation
- Chairperson or nominated representative of Aboriginal Children's Advancement Society (ACAS)
- Any Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Female representative of a local Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Organisation
- Any Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander, being a Sutherland Shire resident, who has attended not less than three of the last six consecutive meetings.



4.2. Non-Voting Members

- Director Shire Services
- Manager Arts and Culture
- A maximum of three non-Aboriginal members with an interest in enhancing local Aboriginal culture

4.3. Chairperson

An Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander person and voting member elected by the majority of Voting Members.

4.4. Deputy Chairperson

An Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander person and voting member elected by the majority of Voting Members.

5. MEMBER COMPLIANCE

All Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Sub-Committee members shall be bound by the provision of this Charter, the Code of Conduct for Councillors, the Code of Conduct for Council Staff and the Code of Conduct for Council Committee Members, Delegates of Council and Council Advisers.

6. AUTHORITY

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Sub-Committee was established on the authority of Council at its Meeting held on 21 February 2022 (CORO17-22, Minute no 24.)

7. MEETINGS

7.1. Agenda and Minutes

The agenda shall be determined by the Chairperson of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Sub-Committee and circulated to Members at least one week prior to any meeting.

Minutes of all meetings are to be recorded accurately, approved by the Chairperson and circulated to members within three weeks following the meeting.

7.2. Meeting Frequency

Meetings of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Sub-Committee shall be held quarterly or at such time as determined by the Chairperson.



7.3. Quorum

The quorum of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Sub-Committee shall be four Voting Members and include at least one Councillor.

7.4. Voting

Each Voting Member shall be entitled to one vote in respect to any matter and the decision of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Sub-Committee shall be by the majority of votes cast in favour. The Chairperson shall have a casting vote.

Decisions requiring a vote shall not be made at any meeting unless a quorum is present.

7.5. Venue

The venue shall be at Council's Administration Building or at a meeting place determined by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Sub-Committee.

7.6. Procedural Matters

In relation to any procedural matter, the ruling of the Chairperson shall be final.

8. TERM AND TENURE OF SUB-COMMITTEE

8.1. Term of Sub-Committee

As required until objectives are achieved.

8.2. Tenure of Office

Voting Members shall hold office as determined by Council and, where applicable, in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Act.

Non-Voting Members shall remain while such persons continue to hold the position as stated or as determined by the Chief Executive Officer.

8.3. Vacancies

A vacancy on the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Sub-Committee shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment was made.



9. VARIATION OF THE CHARTER

This Charter may be added to, repealed, or amended by resolution of the Council in consultation with or upon the recommendation of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Sub-Committee.

End of Document

UNCONTROLLED COPY WHEN PRINTED - For up to date copy please refer to Sutherland Shire Council Intranet / Website			
Document Name: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Sub- Committee Charter Document Accountability Manager Arts and Culture			
Version: 2.0	Approved by: Council (SER013-2	3) Minute No : <u>148</u>	Date approved: 24 July 2023
Original: February 2022	Last Revision	n : July 2023	Next Revision: July 2025