JULY 2023

PREPARED BY:

ASSET STRATEGY AND DELIVERY



4-20 Eton Street, Sutherland NSW 2232 T 02 9710 0333 sutherlandshire.nsw.gov.au





1. NAME

Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee.

2. PURPOSE

The purpose of the Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee is to assist Council in reducing the risk to life and property from riverine, overland, and coastal flooding across the Sutherland Shire.

3. OBJECTIVES

The objectives of the Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee are:

- Act as a forum for the discussion of technical, social, financial and environmental issues associated with flooding;
- Provide a link between Council, NSW Government agencies and the local community on flood-related matters; and
- Oversee and provide input to Council's ongoing floodplain risk management program.

4. MEMBERSHIP

Sub-Committee Membership shall consist of:

4.1. Voting Members

- Councillor (appointed by Council to act as Chairperson)
- Councillor (appointed by Council to act as Deputy Chairperson)
- Up to six community members who are residents within the Sutherland Shire Local Government area, with relevant qualifications or experience and who provide a reasonable representation of the various floodplains within the Shire.

4.2. Non-Voting Members

- Director Shire Infrastructure & Operations (or delegated representatives)
- Senior Manager Asset Strategy & Delivery, Sutherland Shire Council (or delegated representatives)
- Strategic Assets Manager, Sutherland Shire Council (or delegated representatives)
- Stormwater & Waterway Assets Engineer, Sutherland Shire Council
- Manager Strategic Planning, Sutherland Shire Council (or delegated representative)
- Local Emergency Management Officers, Sutherland Shire Council
- NSW Department of Planning and Environment, Environment Heritage Group (EHG) representative



- NSW State Emergency Service representatives
- Additional invited community representatives, as required
- Additional invited NSW Government agency representatives, as required

4.3. Chairperson

A Councillor appointed by Council.

4.4. Deputy Chairperson

A Councillor appointed by Council.

5. MEMBER COMPLIANCE

All Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee members shall be bound by the provision of this Charter, the Code of Conduct for Councillors, the Code of Conduct for Council Staff and the Code of Conduct for Council Committee Members, Delegates of Council and Council Advisers.

6. AUTHORITY

The Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee was established on the authority of Sutherland Shire Council at its Meeting held 21 February 2022 (COR017-22, Minute No. 27) and in accordance with the NSW Flood Prone Land Policy.

7. MEETINGS

7.1. Agenda and Minutes

The agenda shall be determined by the Chairperson of the Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee and circulated to Members at least one week prior to any Meeting.

Minutes of all Meetings are to be recorded accurately, approved by the Chairperson and circulated to members within three weeks following the Meeting.

7.2. Meeting Frequency

Meetings of the Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee shall be held as required or at such time as determined by the Chairperson.

7.3. Quorum

The quorum of the Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee shall be four Voting Members including one Councillor.



7.4. Voting

Each Voting Member shall be entitled to one vote in respect to any matter and the decision of the Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee shall be by the majority of votes cast in favour. The Chairperson shall have a casting vote.

Decisions requiring a vote shall not be made at any Meeting unless a quorum is present.

7.5. Venue

The venue shall be at Council's Administration Building or at a Meeting place determined by the Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee. Meetings may be convened virtually using a web-based meeting service.

7.6. Procedural Matters

In relation to any procedural matter, the ruling of the Chairperson shall be final.

8. TERM AND TENURE OF SUB-COMMITTEE

8.1. Term of Sub-Committee

As required until objectives are achieved.

8.2. Tenure of Office

Voting Members shall hold office as determined by Council and, where applicable, in accordance with the provisions of the *Local Government Act 1993*.

Non-Voting Members shall remain while such persons continue to hold the position as stated or as determined by the Chief Executive Officer.

8.3. Vacancies

A vacancy on the Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment was made.

9. VARIATION OF THE CHARTER

This Charter may be added to, repealed, or amended by resolution of the Council in consultation with or upon the recommendation of the Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee.



End of Document

UNCONTROLLED COPY WHEN PRINTED - For up to date copy please refer to Sutherland Shire Council Intranet / Website				
Document Name: Floodplain Risk Management Sub-Committee Charter			Document Accountability: Senior Manager, Asset Strategy and Delivery	
Version: 2.0	Approved by: Council		Minute No: 25 (INF Cmm)	Date approved: 10 July 2023
Original: February 2022		Last Revision: July 2023		Next Revision: July 2025