[skip to content]

Contact Us
8536 5700
782 Kingsway, Gymea NSW Australia

About Hazelhurst


Opening Hours

Gallery:10am - 4pm

Cafe Hours:9am - 3pm

Gallery Shop:10am - 4pm

Art Centre

Mon - Fri:9am - 5pm

Sat - Sun:9am - 4:30pm

Public Holidays

Closed 2pm Christmas Eve reopening Saturday 2 January 9am, Regional Gallery 10am.

View Location Map

Hazelhurst sponsor list, Arts NSW, Holt Estate, Moran Aged Care

Hazelhurst Art on Paper Award 2019

21 Sep 2019 - 17 Nov 2019

Since 2001 The Hazelhurst Art on Paper Award has been a significant national biennial exhibition that aims to elevate the status of works on paper while supporting and promoting artists working with this medium.

With prize money totalling $26,000, the Award showcases outstanding art created with, on or about paper. Artists compete for the $15,000 major award; the Young & Early Career Artist and the Friends of  Hazelhurst Local Artist Awards ($5,000 each); and the People’s Choice Award ($1,000), plus the Hazelhurst Preparator’s choice Residency Award.

Robert Ewing won the Hazelhurst Art on Paper Award 2019 for his work entitled Chaos and Consequence, October 2017. Robert who is from Pinjarra in Western Australia has been awarded $15,000. Judges for the 2019 Art on Paper Award were artists Idris Murphy, Joan Ross and Oliver Watts, artist and Head Curator of Artbank. The judges chose this work from 86 finalists.



The Young & Early Career Artist Award of $5,000 was awarded to Belem Lett for Mountains of Madness, 2019 and the Friends of Hazelhurst Local Artist Prize of $5,000 was awarded jointly to Kerry Toomey for Mundhuii, 2019 and Paul Williams for Painting ongoing, 2017-2019. The installation crew also chose their favourite work which this year has been awarded to Kate Vassallo for her work Chance Forms, 2018. Kate will receive a 4 week residency at Hazelhurst.

Kerry Toomey won The People’s Choice Award of $1000.

View the Hazelhurst Art On Paper Award 2019 digital catalogue.

This year Hazelhurst received entries from over 800 artists from throughout Australia. The Hazelhurst Art on Paper Award is a significant national exhibition that aims to elevate the status of works on paper while supporting and promoting artists working with this medium. The works in the 2019 Award demonstrated the materiality of paper, its versatility and the possibilities of paper as a medium. Paper can be cut, torn, folded, layered, scratched, scrunched, burned, animated, woven, found and re-purposed.

The following artists were selected for the Hazelhurst Art on Paper Award 2019:

Margaret Ackland | Samara Adamson-Pinczewski | Suzanne Archer | Nicole Barakat | Lee Bethel | Patrizia Biondi | Josh Boerma | Anthea Boesenberg | M Bozzec | Matthew Bromhead | Leah Bullen | Penelope Cain | Elaine Campaner | Joshua Charadia | Louisa Chircop | Tracey Clement | Kathryn Cowen | Tori de Mestre | Matthew de Moiser | Ben Denham | Shoufay Derz | Mark Dober | Adrienne Doig | Lucy Donovan | John A Douglas | Christine Druitt-Preston | Peter Dudding | Tatjana Este | Robert Ewing | Julia Flanagan | Hayley Megan French | Todd Fuller | Yvette Hamilton | Mark Hislop | Anna Hoyle | Amber-rose Hulme | Kirrily Humphries | Amanda Izzard | Lisa Jones | Locust Jones | Roslyn Kean | Deborah Kelly | Nicole Kelly | Simon Kennedy | Martin King | Maria Kontis | Belem Lett | Michael Lindeman | Tania Maria Mastroianni | Kevin McKay | Ceara Metlikovec | Dale Miles | Stephanie Monteith | Louise Morgan | Damian Moss | Sarah Mufford | Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran | Eva Nolan | Natalie O'Connor | Lillian O'Neil | Elena Papanikolakis | Philjames | Izabela Pluta | Emily Portmann | Monica Renaud | Mollie Rice | Sarah Rodigari | Nick Santoro | Douglas Schofield | Peter Sharp | Liz Shreeve | Kim Spooner | Kylie Stillman | Sherna Teperson | Kerry Toomey | Kate Vassallo | Gary Warner | Jodie Whalen | Paul White | Cleo Wilkinson | Amanda Williams | Paul Williams | Jeffrey Wood | Heidi Yardley | Zuza Zochowski | Tianli Zu.

Sponsored by principal partner Tradies.



Image: Top: Hazelhurst. Middle: Chaos and Consequence, Robert Ewing, 2017.



More Information: 02 8536 5700

Did this page help you?

We monitor feedback and will respond to your comments if you include your email address.

Please type the characters you see in the picture below

Please type the code in the box above

Have more to say? Complete our Community survey on the transformation of our website. We are focused on creating a website that provides an intuitive, easy-to-use, and efficient customer experience for our community and we need your feedback to ensure we have captured everything you’d like to see and do on our refreshed website. With the click of a button, you can help us build a better website for our community, provide your feedback now - https://jointheconversation.sutherlandshire.nsw.gov.au/website- 2021