Nominations are open for appointment of Community Representatives to Council (IHAP) Independent Hearing and Assessment Panel

Want to contribute to your community?

Sutherland Shire Council is seeking Community Representatives for the new Local Planning Panel that is being established in accordance with the State Government guidelines. This Panel will replace the current IHAP.

The Panel will consist of three independent experts and a community representative for each meeting. The Council is seeking nominations from residents of the Sutherland Shire Local Government Area to be part of a pool of community representatives on the panel.

The role of a community representative is a three-year part-time role commencing 1 March 2018. As a community representative you will contribute to Panel discussions and decisions. Nominees will need to understand and form a view on, at times, complex development proposals and other planning matters. Meetings will be held once a month and your attendance would be paid in accordance with the rates to be set by the Minister of Planning

Further information about IHAP is available here.

Mayors, Councillors, property developers, real estate agents and Sutherland Shire Council staff are not eligible to apply.

Selection criteria: You will be expected to contribute constructively to panel discussions, attend around 12 meetings a year, and help determine applications for new development in your area. Membership of the panel is for up to three years.

To apply: download and complete this application form or contact Karin Jones at 9710 0150 or email for more information. 

Applications must be lodged by 5.00pm, 9 January 2018 and sent to the General Manager Scott Phillips, Locked Bag 17, Sutherland NSW 1499 or via email.

 Find Out More

For persons interested in making an application, briefings regarding the role and responsibilities of the local community member positions on the Panel will be held as follows:

Date: Thursday, 21 December 2017
Time: 6pm to 7 pm


Date: Thursday, 4 January 2018
Time: 6pm to 7pm

Location: Sutherland Shire Council Chambers, 4-20 Eton Street, Sutherland

To RSVP to attend one of the briefings, please contact the Panels Coordinator, Karin Jones at 9710 0150 or email. You may also wish to visit the NSW Department of Planning and Development  for more information on Planning Panels.



Address: ,

More information



Did this page help you?

We monitor feedback and will respond to your comments if you include your email address.

Please type the characters you see in the picture below

Please type the code in the box above