Published On 22 August 2019 at 01:20 PM

Last week, Council hosted the 52nd Sutherland Shire Public Speaking Schools Finals at Council Chambers. I was extremely impressed with the level of talent on display, as the best of our high school speakers battled it out for the 2019 Public Speaking title. Council has a long-standing relationship with the Sutherland Shire school community in assisting with this important event, that showcases the skills of our talented students and provides an opportunity to celebrate the finalists and winners. It was great to see students representing seven of our schools; Inaburra, Port Hacking, Kirrawee, Engadine, Caringbah, Sylvania and St Patrick’s College. I was proud to see so many dedicated young people contributing at a very high standard of public speaking. Congratulations to the finalists and to the winners on the day – you are all winners in my eyes.

JUNIOR WINNERS (YRS 7-8): 1st Dean Skropidis Caringbah, 2nd Sienna Thorpe Inaburra, 3rd Emma Wadwell Engadine.

SENIOR WINNERS (YRS 9-10): 1st Simone Allen Caringbah, 2nd Athena Jiang Sylvania , 3rd Alana Forrester St Patrick’s College, Sutherland.

- Carmelo Pesce - Sutherland Shire Mayor


More information

Did this page help you?

We monitor feedback and will respond to your comments if you include your email address.

Please type the characters you see in the picture below

Please type the code in the box above