Cr Kent Johns

Emeritus Mayor 

(This title is awarded by Local Government NSW (LGNSW), the peak industry association that represents the interests of all NSW Councils.  To qualify for the title Emeritus Mayor a Councillor must have served a minimum of three one-year terms as Mayor.  While Cr Johns only served two terms as Sutherland Shire Mayor he was also elected Rockdale Mayor in 1999).

Party: Liberal Party (NSW). First elected to council 2004. Previously Mayor 2012-13 and 2014-15

Cr Johns is currently the NSW Vice President of the NSW Liberal Party. Cr Johns has over 22 years experience as a local Government Councillor having been re-elected for another 4 year term in 2016. Cr Johns owns and operates a local manufacturing company that operates in the water infrastructure industry. Previously he had senior roles in the Water Infrastructure and Chemical industries.


Currently a member of the following Standing Committees:
  • Corporate Governance Committee
  • Shire Infrastructure and Public Domain Committee
Currently a member of the following Sub-Committees:
  • Hazelhurst Retreat Board
Currently a member of the following External Committees:
  • Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councillors (Voting Delegate)

More information

Did this page help you?

We monitor feedback and will respond to your comments if you include your email address.

Please type the characters you see in the picture below

Please type the code in the box above