[skip to content]

Contact Us
8536 5700
782 Kingsway, Gymea NSW

About Hazelhurst


Opening Hours

Gallery:10am - 5pm

Cafe Hours:9am - 4pm

Art Centre

Mon - Thur:9am - 9:30pm

Fri - Sun:9am - 5pm

Public Holidays

Closed New Years Day, Good Friday, Christmas and Boxing Day. Close at 2pm on Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve.

View Location Map

Hazelhurst sponsor list, Arts NSW, Artwork Transposrt, Moran Aged Care, Tradies, transdev.

Hazelhurst Art on Paper Award

20 May 2017 - 16 Jul 2017

With prize money totalling $26,000, the biennial Hazelhurst Art on Paper Award showcases outstanding art created with, on, or about paper.

Artists compete for the $15,000 major award; the Young and Emerging Artist Award and the Friends of Hazelhurst Local Artist Award ($5000 each) and the People’s Choice Award ($1000). The exhibition includes diverse work by artists from across Australia  including drawing, painting, photography, sculpture, installation, printmaking and video.

Hazelhurst received entries by more than 850 artists this year, the largest number of entries ever received for the Art on Paper Award. The entries were of an incredibly high standard in a diverse range of mediums which made the selection process an enjoyable, yet difficult task for the selection panel.
The selection panel for the 2017 Hazelhurst Art Award, consisted of Carrie Kibbler, Hazelhurst's Curator, Grahame Kime, Hazelhurst’s Art Centre Manager, Louisa Chircop, winner of the 2015 Art on Paper Local Artist Award and Rochelle Haley, artist and lecturer at UNSW Art & Design.  
From the artworks submitted, the following artists have had their work selected for the exhibition:

Abdul Abdullah
Belinda Allen
Tim Andrew
Suzanne Archer
Gemma Avery
Kirstin Berg
Lee Bethel
Drew Bickford
Betty Bird
Harriet Body
Marinka Bozzec
Leah Bullen
Penelope Cain
Michelle Cawthorn
Terrence Combos
Timothy Cook
Sam Cranstoun
Shoufay Derz
Chris Dolman
Christine Druitt-Preston
John Edwards
Robert Fielding
Simon Finn
Jen Fullerton
Ashleigh Garwood
Becky Gibson
Michaela Gleave
Joanne Handley
Virginia Hilyard & Sue Pedley
Nicola Hooper
Phil James
David Lawrey & Jaki Middleton
Winsome Jobling
Jennifer Keeler-Milne
Madeleine Kelly
Nicole Kelly
Deborah Kelly
Waratah Lahy
Richard Lewer
Kasane Low
Joanne Makas
Ally McKay
Kevin McKay
Fiona McMonagle
Tonee Messiah
Paniny Mick
Jennifer Mills
Stephanie Monteith
Joel Moore
Damian Moss
Sarah Mufford
Paula Ngu
Catherine O’Donnell
Indigo O'Rourke
Becc Ország
Emily Portmann
Texta Queen
Andy Quilty
Troy Quinliven
Ben Rak
Lynne Roberts-Goodwin
Brian Robinson
Peter Sharp
Liz Shreeve
Laura Stark
Neridah Stockley
Abdullah M Iyhab Syed
Sherna Teperson
Ioulia Terizis
Amber Wallis
Mumu Mike Williams
Amanda Williams
Paul Williams
Sandra Winkworth
Puna Yanima
Zuza Zochowski
Tianli Zu

The judging for Art on Paper will take place on Friday 19 May. The judge for the 2017 Hazelhurst Art on Paper Award is Lindy Lee. The award winners will be announced at the exhibition launch on Friday 19 May at 6pm. The exhibition continues until Sunday 16 July 2017.  


Principal Sponsor:



Image: Jennifer Mills In the echo chamber (red/yellow palette) watercolour and mixed drawing media on paper.

More Information: 02 8536 5700

Did this page help you?

We monitor feedback and will respond to your comments if you include your email address.